US to Lift South Africa COVID Travel Restrictions

The White House announced that COVID travel restrictions imposed on South Africa,  Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini and Malawi,  would be lifted by New Year’s Eve.

The official said the curbs were no longer necessary as Omicron is the prevalent variant in US COVID cases.

“The  restrictions gave us time to understand Omicron and we know our  existing vaccines work against Omicron, esp boosted,” tweeted White  House assistant press secretary Kevin Munoz.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

You have two free articles remaining.
Log in or Subscribe now for unlimited online access.