Turkey Bans Flights From Six Countries Due to New Variant

Turkey has banned flights from six countries to prevent the spread of the new variants of the coronavirus, the Ministry of Interior said.

Authorities have now suspended all direct flights from Bangladesh, Brazil, South Africa, India, Nepal and Sri Lanka, on Monday.

Individuals who have been in said countries, even if they arrived from another country, within the past 14 days will have to show a negative PCR test result taken within 72 hours before entry into the country, as well as a mandatory 14-day quarantine.

Travelers coming from Pakistan and Afghanistan in the past 14 days will have to undergo a 10-day quarantine upon arrival, while those from the United Kingdom, Iran, Egypt and Singapore will need a negative PCR test result, also taken within 72 hours before entry, the ministry also said.

Turkey recorded an additional 5,496 cases on Wednesday, bringing the total to 5,425,652.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.