Tajikistan, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan Peacekeepers Withdraw From Kazakhstan

Peacekeepers units with the Russian-led Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) from Tajikistan, Armenia, and Kyrgyzstan have left Kazakhstan on Friday morning and went to places of their permanent deployment.

The development came after Kazakhstan lifted its state of emergency in several regions imposed after civil unrest in early January.

The Tajikistan peacekeepers had flown from Almaty to Dushanbe by IL-76 of Russia’s Air Force after guarding the oil storage in Almaty, the outlet added.   

Armenian peacekeepers, who also took off from Almaty airport, were carried to Armenia by three transport planes IL-76 of Russia’s Air Force, according to the outlet.

Kyrgyzstan’s peacekeepers, which were guarding a thermal power plant in Almaty, departed Kazakhstan in their vehicles. They will travel about 250 kilometers to Kyrgyzstan’s border, the news agency added.

Kazakh President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev appealed to the CSTO to send troops to help the country’s security forces to deal with violent demonstrators after they stormed several government buildings, including hijacking Almaty airport.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

You have two free articles remaining.
Log in or Subscribe now for unlimited online access.