Sir Graham Brady Announces Eight Tory Leadership Candidates for For UK PM

Sir Graham Brady announced on July 12 the top eight candidates remaining in the race to replace Boris Johnson as Conservative party leader and United Kingdom prime minister.

Brady, the chairman of the Conservative Party’s 1922 Committee, confirmed that the eight contenders are Kemi Badenoch, Suella Braverman, Jeremy Hunt, Penny Mordaunt, Rishi Sunak, Liz Truss, Tom Tugendhat, and Nadhim Zahawi — all of whom received the backing of at least 20 Conservative members of parliament (MP).

Former Health Secretary Sajid David and MP Rehman Chishti dropped out from the race just minutes before nominations closed.

The eight candidates will need votes from at least 30 MPs when the first ballot takes place on July 13. Those who receive less than 30 votes will be eliminated.

Another round of votes will take place on July 14.

The new prime minister will be announced on Sept. 5.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.