Shehbaz Sharif Elected as Pakistan’s New Prime Minster

Pakistan’s parliament on Monday elected Shehbaz Sharif as the country’s new Prime Minister after his predecessor, Imran Khan, lost a no-confidence vote on Sunday.

Sharif, who is the president of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), and former chief minister of Pakistan’s largest province Punjab, was elected by the National Assembly as the 23rd Prime Minister after securing 174 votes in a 342-member lower legislative chamber.

A minimum of 172 votes were required for a simple majority in the parliament. Sharif is expected to announce his Cabinet in a day or two.

Addressing lawmakers, Shehbaz said it was the first time in Pakistan’s history that a no-confidence motion against a Prime Minister had been successful, adding that “good has prevailed over evil.”

“Today is a big day for Pakistan when a selected premier was sent packing in a legal and constitutional manner,” Shehbaz said, and thanked the Supreme Court for “burying the doctrine of necessity forever.”

Tens of thousands of former Prime Minister Imran Khan took to the streets on Sunday night across the country to protest against Khan’s ouster, terming it a “foreign conspiracy.”

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

You have two free articles remaining.
Log in or Subscribe now for unlimited online access.