Australian Government Refuses to join Coal Phase-Out

The Australian government refused to join dozens of nations who have pledged to phase out coal-fired power in a deal at the COP26 climate summit.

Signatories of the COP26 agreement agreed to phase out coal-fuelled power generation in the 2030s for richer countries, and the 2040s for poorer nations.

A separate group of countries, including the US, Canada, and the UK, has committed to ending investment in new coal plants at home and abroad by the end of next year. 

Meantime, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison withheld his signature, adding Australia to the several highly coal-dependent nations who did not commit to the pledge – along with China, the world’s biggest greenhouse gas emitter, India, and the United States, Skynews reported.

Angus Taylor, Australia’s Emissions Reduction Minister, said that the government’s focus was “not on wiping out industries.”

“It’s on bringing down the cost of low-emissions technologies and making sure those low-emissions technologies can deliver for Australians and our customers throughout the world,” Taylor added. 

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.