All Countries to be Removed from UK’s ‘Red’ COVID-19 Travel List

All remaining seven countries in the United Kingdom’s “red” COVID-19 travel list will be removed from Nov. 1.

The UK government announced on Oct. 28 that fully vaccinated travelers from Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Peru, and Venezuela will no longer be required to quarantine in a hotel.

“Delta is now the dominant variant in most countries around the world. This means the risk of known variants entering the UK has reduced and the government can confidently remove these seven destinations from the red list,” the government said.

The government, however, said that the red list and quarantine hotel policy will remain in place “as a crucial line of defense” against the potential spread of variants of concern.

“The red list and quarantine remain vital in protecting our borders — we are keeping a small number of quarantine rooms on standby and will not hesitate to take swift action by adding countries to the red list if the risk increases again,” Health Secretary Sajid Javid said in a statement.

The government said it will review the red list every three weeks. Data for all countries will also be kept under review, including the emergence of new variants.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.