Russia to Ban Adoption of Local Children by Foreigners from “Unfriendly Nations”

Russian lawmakers have introduced legislation that will outlaw the adoption of Russian children by foreigners from “unfriendly nations.”

The citizens of the “unfriendly nations” that will be banned from adopting Russian children include the following: Montenegro, Albania, Switzerland, Andorra, South Korea, Lichtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, the Czech Republic, North Macedonia, Croatia, Denmark, Greece, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

The bill’s draft was published on the website of the lower house of the Russian parliament, the State Duma, on Monday.

The legislation seeks to broaden Dima Yakovlev’s statute, which President Vladimir Putin signed in December 2012 and prohibits Americans from adopting Russian children.

The Yakolev statute was passed as retaliation for a US statute that barred Russian nationals accused by Washington of violating human rights, including those thought to be responsible for the 2009 death of Sergei Magnitsky, a lawyer who exposed human rights violations in Russia.

Since the implementation of Yakolev’s statute in 2012, there have been significantly fewer Russian children adopted by foreign families. Russian state news outlet TASS reported that 240 Russian newborns were adopted abroad in 2019, down from 2,604 in 2012.

The bill, which is an addendum to a draft amending the Family Code of Russia, claims that Russian orphans’ being adopted by citizens of “unfriendly nations” will negatively impact Russia’s future.

“For many years ‘the collective West’ has disrupted the issues of good and evil, destroyed traditional family values,” read part of the bill.

Before President Vladimir Putin can sign the legislation into force, it must also be approved by the upper house of the Russian parliament.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.