15th President of India Droupadi Murmu Takes Oath

Droupadi Murmu took the oath of office on Monday as India’s fifteenth president.

Murmu thanked all the Members of Parliament (MPs) and Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for electing her in her speech delivered after Chief Justice of India NV Ramana administered her oath in the Central Hall of Parliament.

The swearing-in event was attended by the Vice President and Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, M. Venkaiah Naidu, the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, Om Birla, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Governors, Chief Ministers, heads of diplomatic missions, MPs, and senior civil and military leaders.

President-elect Murmu wrote history on Thursday by defeating rival Yashwant Sinha to become the second woman and the first tribal leader to assume the highest constitutional position.

Murmu, who succeeds Ram Nath Kovind, was India’s youngest President at 64 and the first to be born after Independence.

The 21-gun salute was fired before India’s new president signed the oath of office, which was followed by raucous cheering and desk thumps.

Following the brief ceremony, Murmu and Kovind were led from the Central Hall while trumpets and drums played. 

The newly elected President and her predecessor returned to the Rashtrapati Bhavan in a ceremonial parade following a national salute by the President’s bodyguard at Gate No. 5 of the Parliament.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.