Ukraine Cuts Diplomatic Ties with North Korea Over Recognition of Russian-backed Separatist Regions

Ukraine has cut diplomatic ties with North Korea after it recognized the independence of two Russian-backed separatist regions.

“The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine strongly condemns the decision of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea to recognize the so-called ‘independence’ of the territories temporarily occupied by the Russian Federation in the Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine,” the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry announced on July 13.

The Ukrainian Foreign Ministry said that it considered the decision by North Korea “an attempt… to undermine the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.”

North Korea’s recognition of the regions will not change Ukraine’s internationally recognized borders and will bear no legal consequences, the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry added.

Earlier in the day, TASS reported that North Korean Ambassador to Russia Sin Hong-chol presented a document on North Korea’s decision to recognize the independence of the Donetsk region.

Donetsk separatist leader Denis Pushilin confirmed that North Korea had recognized the region as an independent state, TASS reported.

North Korea has become the third country in the world to recognize the independence of the separatist regions in Ukraine after Russia and Syria.

Russian President Vladimir Putin recognized Donetsk and Luhansk as independent states days before he launched his invasion of Ukraine on Feb. 24.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.