Russia Bans UK Journalists

ussia has banned 29 members of the British media from entering the country in response to measures by the British government on Russian public figures amid the invasion of Ukraine.

The Russian Foreign Ministry announced on June 14 that it imposed personal sanctions on top British journalists who it alleges “are involved in the deliberate dissemination of false and one-sided information about Russia and the events in Ukraine and Donbas.”

“With their biased assessments, they also contribute to fueling Russophobia in British society,” the Russian Foreign Ministry further said.

British journalists working for the BBC, Sky News, The Guardian, The Daily Mail, Channel 4, ITV, The Independent, The Daily Telegraph, and a number of other outlets are included in the “stop list.”

Since Russia invaded Ukraine on Feb. 24, it has launched an unprecedented crackdown on Russian and foreign independent media outlets, closing them down and criminalizing reporting of anything it considers “false information” about the war.

A Guardian spokesperson called Russia’s ban on journalists “disappointing” and “a bad day for press freedom.”

“Trusted, accurate journalism is more important now than ever, and despite this decision, we will continue to report robustly on Russia and on its invasion of Ukraine,” the spokesperson said.

A BBC spokesperson said that the media outlet “will continue to report independently and fairly.”

Russia also banned 20 individuals it described as “associated with the defense complex of Great Britain” who “are involved in making decisions on the supply of weapons to Ukraine.”

The list of people associated with defense includes British Deputy Defense Secretary Jeremy Quin, Air Force Chief Mike Wigston, and  Royal Navy Chief Admiral Sir Ben Key.

The Russian Foreign Ministry said that work on expanding the “stop list” will continue.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.