Marcus Ericsson Wins 2022 Indianapolis 500

Swedish racer Marcus Ericsson won the 105th edition of the annual racing event, Indianapolis 500, also known as ‘Indy 500’ on Sunday.

Ericsson, who drove in Formula One from 2015 to 2018 before switching to IndyCar, is the second Swede to win the Indianapolis 500, after Kenny Bräck in 1999.

“I can’t believe it. I’m so happy,” Ericsson told the National Broadcasting Company (NBC) in an interview after his momentous win.

Ericsson took charge of the race and kept it under control for Chip Ganassi Racing until teammate Jimmie Johnson crashed with four laps to go, which caused a rare red-flag stoppage at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Pato O’Ward and the rest of the competitors had roughly 12 minutes on pit road after the break to figure out how to catch Ericsson for the win. 

With two laps remaining in the race, Ericsson comfortably overtook O’Ward, but the Mexican had one last chance to take the lead, which Ericsson successfully held.

The Ganassi team had not won the Indy 500 in 10 years and sent 5 candidates to Indy to put a stop to the streak, which Ericsson achieved.

Ericsson received the coveted Borg-Warner Trophy and promptly celebrated with a traditional bottle of milk on the podium.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.