Sri Lanka Installs New PM, Bars Rajapaksa and MPs from Leaving Country

United National Party (UNP) head Ranil Wickremesinghe has been sworn in as the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka amid the ongoing political turmoil.

Wickremesinghe’s sudden appointment came after Mahinda Rajapaksa resigned as the Prime Minister following a violent confrontation with protesters at the Temple Trees residence.

Rajapaksa, MPs Namal Rajapaksa, Johnston Fernando, Sanath Nishantha, and 13 others are reportedly out of the government already but have been barred from leaving the country after Additional Solicitor General Ayesha Jinasena requested an investigation on the Temple Trees and Galle Face Green incidents. 

Wickremesinghe has already been Prime Minister of Sri Lanka five times before.

There are no announcements yet on who will be assigned to the new Sri Lankan Government cabinet.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.