Japan Opens to More than a Hundred Countries but Bars Tourists

Japanese officials said the government would lift its entry ban on non-resident foreign nationals from 106 countries like Britain, India, and the United States starting Friday as part of the gradual easing of COVID-19 restrictions.

However, foreign tourists remain banned from entering Japan.

The Foreign Ministry announced the lifting of the entry ban to countries in Asia like Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, the Philippines, and Thailand, and to European countries such as France, Germany, Italy, and Spain.

The countries that were not included in the entry ban are Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Latin American and African nations such as Brazil, Chile, Morocco, and Tunisia.

In November, Japan effectively imposed an entry ban on non-resident foreign nationals to curb the spread of the highly transmissible Omicron variant. 

Beginning Sunday, Japan will raise the daily cap on overseas arrivals to 10,000 from the current 7,000.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.