Russia Resumes Flights with 52 Countries

Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin said the country would end restrictions on flights to and from 52 “friendly” countries after April 9, after Moscow was cut-off from the West over the conflict in Ukraine.

“Now, we are resuming flights with 52 countries, including Argentina, India, China, South Africa, and other friendly states,” Mishustin said on Monday.

Mishustin also said Russia would be lifting restrictions on travel across the land border between Russia and China.

The move came after Western nations, including EU member states, the United States, Britain, and Canada, blocked their airspace to Russian planes after Moscow sent troops into Ukraine.

Previously, Western nations have imposed sanctions that forced Western firms to terminate leasing contracts with Russian airlines for over 500 aircraft.

The sanctions prevented Russian airlines from buying aircraft parts or maintenance services from Europe or the United States.

Russia responded by closing its airspace to airlines from 36 countries, including all 27 members of the European Union.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.