Denmark Expels 15 Russian Diplomats

Denmark’s Foreign Minister Jeppe Kofod has announced today their government’s decision to expel 15 Russian diplomats.

In a tweet, Kofod has identified these Russian diplomats to be intelligence officers working at the Russian embassy in Copenhagen.

“They pose a threat to our national security,” Kofod tweeted.

Kofod has clarified that the Danish government intends to maintain diplomatic ties but “will not accept Russian espionage on Danish soil.”

In a separate statement, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark has emphasized that the Russian diplomats were given 14 days to leave Copenhagen.

The Russian ambassador and the rest of the embassy in Copenhagen are not included in the deportation.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.