China Appoints New Members to Central Bank Monetary Policy Committee

China has appointed a newly-appointed statistics bureau chief and a vice finance minister to the monetary policy committee of its central bank, replacing two members who have left their positions.

Deputy Finance Minister Yu Weiping and Kang Yi, who became head of the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) earlier in March, were approved as new members of the People’s Bank of China’s (PBOC) monetary policy committee, the State Council announced on Tuesday.

Ning Jizhe, former head of the NBS, and Zou Jiayi, former deputy finance minister, will no longer be part of the committee. Ning stepped down from her role in the statistics bureau after a six-year tenure, while Zou left her vice finance minister role last year.

The committee is led by PBOC Governor Yi Gang, now comprised of 14 members from various government agencies and the academe, and is tasked to formulate policy advice for the cabinet.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.