Russian Diplomats Expelled from EU Countries, Prevented from Entering Buildings in Brussels and Strasbourg

Bulgaria, Latvia, Estonia, and Lithuania have announced the expulsion of Russian diplomats as the invasion of neighboring Ukraine continued. 

“Ten diplomats have been declared persona non grata, the wording is usual. We perceive this as an extremely unfriendly act and reserve the right to retaliate,” said Russian Ambassador to Bulgaria Eleonora Mitrofanova.

Latvian Minister of Foreign Affairs of Latvia Edgar Rinkevich said that the expulsions were “carried out as a coordinated action by the Baltic states.”

The Lithuanian Foreign Ministry confirmed the coordinated move and said it was done out of solidarity with Ukraine.

President of the European Parliament, Roberta Metsola announced that they have done similar moves and prevented  Russian diplomats from entering buildings in their countries.

“From today, diplomatic and state personnel of Russia and Belarus are prohibited from entering the buildings of the European Parliament, has no place for those who destroy the democratic world order,” said Metsola.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.