Russia Bars Biden and Canada’s Trudeau From Entry

Russia announced on Tuesday that it had put U.S. President Joe Biden, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, and several other senior U.S. officials on a “stop list” that bars them from entering the country.

The ban was in response to sanctions imposed by the U.S. and its allies on Russia over Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine. Russia’s foreign ministry said that the move was “on the basis of reciprocity”.

Alongside Biden on the list were Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, CIA chief William Burns, and National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan. Trudeau was later on Tuesday added to the list.

Other banned officials include White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki, Deputy National Security Advisor Daleep Singh, and former presidential candidate Hillary Clinton. Biden’s son Hunter was also banned from entry.

The foreign ministry warned that it will soon introduce additional “Russophobic” U.S. personalities into the sanction list.

The White House acknowledged Russia’s move on Tuesday, saying Moscow may have inadvertently sanctioned Biden’s deceased father by omitting the suffix “junior” from writing the president’s name.

“President Biden is a junior so they may have sanctioned his dad, may he rest in peace,” Psaki told reporters.

“None of us are planning tourist trips to Russia, none of us have bank accounts that we won’t be able to access, so we will forge ahead,” Psaki added, noting that the U.S. government was confident that it could still conduct “direct and indirect conversations with Russia” when needed.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.