Russia Bans 36 Countries from Airspace after EU and Western Ban

Russia has banned at least 36 countries from its airspace following the EU’s earlier ban. 

“In accordance with the norms of international law, as a response to the European states’ ban on flights of civil aircraft operated by Russian air carriers and/or registered in Russia, restrictions have been introduced on the flights of air carriers of 36 states,”  said the Russian Federal Air Transport Agency. 

 Aircraft from the following counries are  now banned from making flights above Russia:

  • Austria, 
  • Albania, 
  • Anguilla (British Overseas Territory), 
  • Belgium, 
  • Bulgaria, 
  • British Virgin Islands, 
  • United Kingdom, 
  • Hungary, 
  • Germany, 
  • Gibraltar, 
  • Greece, 
  • Denmark (including Greenland, the Faroe Islands and the territorial sea), 
  • Jersey , 
  • Ireland, 
  • Iceland, 
  • Spain, 
  • Italy, 
  • Canada, 
  • Cyprus, 
  • Latvia, 
  • Lithuania, 
  • Luxembourg, 
  • Malta, 
  • Netherlands, 
  • Norway, 
  • Poland, 
  • Portugal, 
  • Romania, 
  • Slovakia, 
  • Slovenia, 
  • Finland, 
  • France, 
  • Croatia, 
  • Czech Republic, 
  • Sweden, and 
  • Estonia

A special permit however could be obtained if flights need to be made above Russian airspace.

Russia’s move came just after the EU and Canada announced that Russian flights are no longer allowed in their airspace in response to the unjustified invasion of Ukraine. 

“In view of the seriousness of the situation and in response to Russian actions destabilizing the situation in Ukraine, it is advisable to introduce further restrictive measures related to finance and aviation. (…) Member States should be required to refuse permission to land, take off or fly over their the territory of any aircraft operated by Russian air carriers, including as a marketing carrier, any aircraft registered in Russia and aircraft not registered in Russia, owned or chartered or otherwise controlled by a Russian legal entity or individual,” said the EU journal. 

The EU also said it has approved the decision to freeze the assets of the Bank of Russia. 

“Transactions related to the management of reserves, as well as assets of the Central Bank of Russia, are prohibited, including transactions with any legal entity, organization or body acting on behalf of or on behalf of the Central Bank of Russia,” said the EU. 

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.