Australia Announces Sanctions Against Russia

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison has announced sanctions against Russia on Friday, targeting more than 300 members of the Russian Parliament who voted for the invasion of Ukraine and “oligarchs whose economic weight is of strategic significance to Moscow.”

Morrison told a Wednesday news conference the measures were just the beginning, and that those sanctions would be extended to “key Belarusian individuals and entities.”

Travel bans and financial sanctions would be placed on eight members of the security council of the Russian Federation.

Sanctions would be imposed against the transport, energy, and telecommunications sectors, and oil, gas, and mineral reserves in the Ukraine regions of Donetsk and Luhansk, occupied by Russia.

Australia would also target several Russian banks. 

“This is only the start of this process,” Morrison said.

Meanwhile, Morrison praised Germany for freezing approval of the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline owned by Russia’s state-backed energy enterprise Gazprom, built to carry gas from Siberia to Germany.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.