Jury Seated in Trial of Three Former Police Officers Over George Floyd’s Killing

The jury was seated on Jan. 20 in the federal civil rights trial of three former Minneapolis police officers charged in the killing of George Floyd.

The 18-member jury, including six alternates, comprised of 11 women and seven men, according to ABC News.

Star Tribune reported that two jurors appeared to be Asian while the rest are white. None were Black.

Former officers Alexander Keung, Tou Thao, and Thomas Lane face charges of aiding and abetting second-degree murder and aiding and abetting second-degree manslaughter in the death of Floyd, a 46-year-old Black man.

On May 25, 2020, former police officer Derek Chauvin dug his knee in the back of Floyd’s neck for over nine minutes in an attempt to arrest him,  ultimately killing him.

Keung, Thao, and Lane allegedly showed deliberate indifference to Floyd during the attempted arrest.

While Chauvin was convicted of murder last April and pleaded guilty to similar federal civil rights violations last December, the three defendants pleaded not guilty to the charges in the case.

The three defendants will likely face a prison sentence between 20 to 25 years if convicted, according to legal experts.

An evidentiary hearing is scheduled for Jan. 21.

Opening statements are scheduled to begin on Jan. 24.

U.S. District Court Judge Paul Magnuson will preside over the case, which will be held at the Warren E. Burger Federal Building in St. Paul.

The state trial was scheduled to take place in March but it has been pushed to begin on June 13 due to the uncertainty on how long the federal trial will last, though it is expected to last two weeks.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.