Philippines Extends Travel Ban on 10 Countries Until Aug. 31

The Philippines has extended its restrictions on travelers coming from 10 countries until the end of August to prevent the spread of the highly contagious Delta variant of COVID-19.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced on Aug. 13 that the government has extended the travel ban on India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia, and Indonesia from Aug. 16 to 31.

The decision was based on the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force of Emerging Infectious Diseases.

The travel ban was initially set to expire on Aug. 15.

The announcement came after the Philippines reported 177 new cases of the Delta variant on Aug. 12, bringing the total number of Delta variant cases to 627.

Of the Delta variant cases, 154 are local, three came from returning overseas Filipinos, while 30 are still being verified.

The spread of the Delta variant prompted President Rodrigo Duterte to impose a two-week strict lockdown called “enhanced community quarantine” on several areas, including Metro Manila, until Aug. 20.

According to the Department of Health, the Philippines has recorded 12,439 cases on Aug. 12, bringing the tally to over 1.7 million.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.