Cambodia Enforces Curfews, Locks Down Border Regions with Thailand

Cambodia has implemented a nationwide curfew and locked down eight provinces bordering Thailand to prevent the spread of Delta COVID-19 cases.

The provinces of Koh Kong, Pursat, Battambang, Pailin, Banteay Meanchey, Oddar Meanchey, Preah Vihear, and Siem Reap would be subjected to border controls while a curfew from 9 am to 3 am would be implemented across the country.

The new measures were made after  39 new Delta cases were detected in the country from 21 migrant workers from Thailand.

The rest of the Delta cases were reported from people who have had close contact with the infected workers. 

Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen said the measures were made to ensure that travel to and from Thailand is curbed to prevent more cases. 

Trade will still continue from Thailand but Cambodian migrant workers would have to wait until August 12 to go home or return to work. 

There are no details yet on which zones of the eight provinces would be declared as “red zones” or areas of special concern. 

Cambodia had already closed its border with Vietnam earlier this month while its national tally has already passed 75,000.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.