U.S. House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy Announces Picks for Jan. 6 Select Committee

United States House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy announced on July 19 his Republican appointees for the Select Committee charged with investigating the Jan. 6 Capitol riot.

McCarthy appointed Representatives Jim Banks of Indiana, Jim Jordan of Ohio, Rodney Davis of Illinois, Kelly Armstrong of North Dakota, and Troy Nehls of Texas to serve in the Democrat-led committee.

“I will do everything possible to give the American people the facts about the lead up to January 6, the riot that day, and the responses from Capitol leadership and the Biden administration,” Banks, who will be the committee’s ranking member, said in a statement.

“I will not allow this committee to be turned into a forum for condemning millions of Americans because of their political beliefs,” Banks added.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi has the final say over the appointments to the panel. However, she has not signaled any plans to turn down any of McCarthy’s appointees.

The House passed a legislation last month allowing Pelosi to appoint 13 members, including five “after consultation” with McCarthy, for the committee.

Pelosi announced her appointments earlier this month, with Representative Bennie Thompson as the chairman.

The first hearing of the committee is scheduled on July 27 with two Capitol police officers and two Washington, D.C. police officers named as witnesses to deliver testimonies.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.