U.S. restricts sales to Russian IT security firms

The United States on Friday has restricted trade with four information technology companies and other entities due to malicious activities led by the Russian government.

The U.S. Commerce Department posted six entities, which were sanctioned by the U.S. Treasury Department in April, which operated in the technology sector that supports Russian intelligence services.

The six entities are the Era, JSC Positive Technologies, SVA, Neobit, Passit, and AST. Russia-based IT security firms Neobit, AST, and Positive Technologies have clients that include the Russian government. SVA is a Russian state-owned entity supporting malicious cyber operations. Passit is an IT company conducting research and development of malicious cyber operations of Russia’s Foreign Intelligence Service. Era is a research center and technology park by the Russian Ministry of Defense.

US companies are discouraged to transact with these entities listed by the Department of Commerce without a license because it will likely be rejected.

The Biden administration has imposed in April sweeping sanctions on Russia to punish Moscow for cyber attacks, meddling in last year’s US election, poisoning Kremlin critic Alexei Navalny and other alleged malicious actions.

The Kremlin has denied the allegations of its involvement.

The United States adds an entity to the Department of Commerce’s trade blacklist stating that it poses a risk to the interests of US national security or foreign policy.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.