Canadian Government Officials Barred from Entering Russia in Counter-Sanction Response

The Russian Foreign Ministry has barred nine Canadian officials from entering Russia indefinitely in retaliation to Canada’s sanctions against Russian officials accused of human rights violations on Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny.

Navalny is the most determined political critic of Russian President Vladimir Putin. He was arrested in January upon his return from Germany after five months of recovering from nerve agent poisoning. Navalny blames the Kremlin but Russian officials reject the accusations.

The Russian entry ban includes: 

  • David Lametti, Canada’s justice minister and attorney general, 
  • Brenda Lucki, the Canadian police commissioner,
  • Anne Kelly, the commissioner of the country’s Correctional Service, 
  • Dominic LeBlanc, minister for intergovernmental affairs, 
  • Marci Surkes, the policy director for Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau,
  • Jody Thomas, deputy minister of the national defense department, 
  • Lt. Gen. Mike Rouleau of the Canadian armed forces, 
  • Rear Adm. Scott Bishop, the head of the military intelligence command, and 
  • Brian Brennan. a deputy police commissioner.

Maria Zakharova, Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman said in a statement that Moscow remains open for “the development of our ties on the basis of mutual respect and with the emphasis on cooperation in areas such as the Arctic issues, relations between regions and business ties where our interests objectively converge.”

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.