Nigeria Bans Travelers from India, Brazil, Turkey Due to COVID-19 Surge

Nigeria will ban entry to non-Nigerian travelers from India, Brazil, and Turkey due to concerns of rising cases of COVID-19.

The Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 in Nigeria announced on May 1 that any individual who has visited India, Brazil, or Turkey in the last two weeks will be denied entry, except for those who transited through the three countries.

The travel ban will come into effect on May 4.

Those arriving in Nigeria will now be required to show a negative test result for COVID-19 with the test taken within 72 hours of travel instead of the previous 96-hour period, the committee said.

The committee also said that permanent residents who visited the three countries in the last two weeks will undergo a week-long mandatory quarantine in a government-approved facility upon arrival.

“These precautionary measures are a necessary step to minimize the risk of a surge in COVID-19 cases introduced to Nigeria from other countries,” Committee Chairman Boss Mustapha stated in the announcement.

The committee also strongly advised Nigerians to avoid any non-essential international travels to the three countries, as well as other countries that show an increasing number of cases and deaths.

On May 1, Nigeria reported 43 new COVID-19 cases, bringing the total to 165,153. Its death toll is at 2,063, according to Johns Hopkins University.

On May 2, India recorded over 390,000 cases and 3,689 new deaths, bringing its tallies to over 19.5 million cases — the second highest in the world after the United States — and 215,542 deaths.

Meanwhile, Brazil recorded 28,935 new cases and 1,202 new deaths, brining the tallies to over 14.8 million cases — the third highest — and 407,639 deaths.

Turkey recorded 25,980 new cases and 340 new deaths, bringing the tallies to over 4.8 million cases and 40,844 deaths.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.