Estonia, Latvia, Slovakia, and Lithuania will Expel Russian Diplomats and Embassy Staff Amid Czech Depot Explosion

Estonia, Latvia, Slovakia, and Lithuania announced that they will expel several Russian diplomats and embassy employees in solidarity with the Czech Republic.

At least 18 Russian diplomats have been expelled in Prague since Saturday over the alleged involvement of Russian spies in the 2014 depot explosion.

“My Latvian and Estonian colleagues have each expelled one [embassy] employee involved in espionage activities,” said Lithuanian Foreign Minister Gabrielius Landsbergis.

Lithuania will expel two Russian diplomats who were allegedly involved in espionage activities.

Latvia’s Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkēvičs announced the expulsion of one Russian diplomat while Slovakia expelled three.

Estonian Foreign Ministry said its single expulsion was related to the 2014 explosion which “violates international law, undermines European security & stability and is unacceptable.”

The Czech Republic ordered 63 more Russian diplomats to leave the country by May to make their number equal to the number of Czech diplomats in Moscow.

The Russian Foreign Ministry also demanded that the Czech embassy in Moscow reduce its number of employees in response to the expulsions and denied any involvement in the 2014 depot explosion.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.