College Students in Utah Are Now Allowed to Skip COVID-19 Vaccine

Utah passed a law in March that restricts colleges in its state from mandating the COVID-19 vaccine for students.

Under House Bill 233, students cannot be required to receive the vaccine for in-person classes unless they are also allowed to opt-out for medical reasons or personal beliefs. Students need only to submit a statement that their religious belief goes against receiving the vaccine. 

Utah State University did not previously require vaccines for its students or faculty, but strongly recommends vaccination. USU is also hosting vaccine clinics on its campus. The school predicts over 1,000 Johnson & Johnson vaccines to be administered today alone.

Utah’s 7-day average of COVID-19 cases is right under 400, while 31 percent of the state’s population has received at least one dose of the vaccine.


© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.