Netflix is testing a new feature that could eliminate password sharing.
Now, when a user signs on to their Netflix account through the Netflix TV app, a pop-up may ask them to very their account by confirming their phone number or email. Users may select to verify at a later time, but if a user cannot eventually verify their accounts’ credentials, they will be prompted to make a new account.
A spokesperson for Netflix explained, “This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so.” The company’s updated terms of service also states accounts “may not be shared with individuals beyond your household.”
This update comes on the heels of Netflix reaching 200 million users last month. Research from Magid states that 33% of users share their password with at least one other person.
Last year, Netflix reported around $25 billion in revenue and nearly $2.8 billion in profit.
© Fourth Estate
® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.