UAE, Burundi and Rwanda Added to UK Travel Ban List

The United Kingdom has added the United Arab Emirates, Burundi, and Rwanda to its list to prevent the spread of the new coronavirus variant, on Thursday. 

“The government has today (28 January 2021) taken the urgent decision to ban travel to the UK from the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Burundi and Rwanda to prevent the spread of the new variant originally identified in South Africa into the UK,” the UK announced. 

Starting on Friday at 1 pm, passengers who traveled from or transited through said countries, in the last 10 days, will not be allowed to enter the country, the government added. 

However, British, Irish and third-country nationals with residence rights in the UK are exempted from the measures, but self-isolation for 10 days is required. 

The UK also issued a flight ban on direct flights from the UAE.

© Fourth Estate® — All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.